National happiness index can be measured by a country's success or economic growth. Do you agree or disagree?

One factor that is increasingly being cited as an important economic indicator is happiness. After all, what good is increased production and consumption if the result isn’t human satisfaction?

Until recently, the subject of happiness was mostly avoided by economists for the lack of effective ways to measure it. However, in recent years, “happiness economists” have found ways to combine subjective surveys with an objective to yield data with consistent patterns, making a national happiness index a practical reality. The researchers looked at life satisfaction data from 37 countries collected over various time periods, from 12 to 34 years, up to 2016. The sample included diverse nations. Indubitably, whatever index is generally settled upon to replace GDP, it will be more complicated.

But simplicity isn’t always an advantage, and the additional effort required to track factors like collective psychological well-being, quality of governance, and environmental integrity would be well spend even if succeeded only in shining a spotlight of public awareness and concern in these areas. But at this moment in history, as GDP growth becomes an unachievable goal, it is especially important that societies re-examine their aims and measures, Also, if we aim for what is no longer possible, we will only achieve frustrations and delusions. But if we aim for genuinely worthwhile goals that are attainable, then even if we have less energy at our command and fewer material goods available, we might nevertheless increase our satisfaction in life.

Henceforth, I disagree with the above statement as getting richer does not make a country happier in the long run, according to the largest-ever review of the correlation between a nation’s wealth and the well-being of its citizens.