Nowadays young adults like to leave their family and live alone. Are the advantages of this trend more than disadvantages?
Over the past century, leaving home to have an independent life has been prevalent
amongst youngsters in some countries. While there exist ample reasons indicating its
outstanding psychological and social benefits, there is contradictory evidence highlighting
its relative drawbacks.
It is a well-established fact that living independently in adolescence offers a wide array
of benefits. One of the leading advantages is without a shred of doubt personal autonomy
which results from self-reliance. Indeed, when young adults choose to leave their family,
they are reinforcing their individuality as well as self-confidence. Another equally notable
advantage of having an independent life in adolescence could be the fact that it cultivates
youngsters social skills. In fact, rarely can we see young adults who leave their family and
do not have remarkable interpersonal skills. Thus, it only makes sense for young adults to
leave their family.
Notwithstanding the advantages that leaving family in adolescence provides, it can be of notable
demerits. First and foremost, young adults' association with deviant peers can be highly harmful.
As a case in point, teenagers may give in to peer pressure and abuse drugs or commit petit crimes.
Moreover, leaving family can lead to the breakdown of family relationships. In other words,
inasmuch as members of a nuclear family live alone, they may become emotionally distant.
In summary, it is evident that despite reinforcing personal autonomy and fostering social skills,
leaving family in adolescence can culminate in deviancy and the breakdown of family; nevertheless,
as it can be observed, the advantages that leaving family in adolescence provides are far more
notable than the disadvantages to the point that they can be neglected.