Online learning is better than classroom learning. Do you agree?

Online learning, in general, and online language learning, in particular, has been gaining popularity. With the increase in Internet speeds and proliferation of high-end computers and mobile devices, we are in a great position in terms of resources to make the best use of online lectures. However, some people still prefer traditional methods of learning. This essay discusses the advantages that online language learning has over traditional or classroom-based methods.

Video-based online language learning can mimic real life learning through engaging lessons and interactive tests. Online learning is typically cheaper as there is practically no limit on the number of students. It also helps in saving on travel time and cost. Moreover, online language learning can help students in developing countries take advantage of lessons from top instructors and academic institutions that are located in a different country.

The main problem with online learning is motivation. This can be attributed to maturity and focus of a student. Some people also argue that classroom learning brings with it the benefits of being with classmates and promotes group study. However, modern online training methods include live chats where one can clear any doubts related to the lectures, and online forums and messenger groups that mimic group study.

Online language learning promotes self-paced learning and better management of one’s time. In my opinion, it is best to have a mix of online learning with occasional real life catch up in the classroom. But overall in today’s world, with the technology and infrastructure at our disposal, online language learning has many advantages over classroom instructions.