Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal examples.

The responsibility of children's action lie on the shoulders of parents. Some people believe that parents should be held liable for their children's action while others disagree. This essay will discuss how this argument is true.

To begin with, children are immature to understand the consequences of the wrong doings. They fail to realise that certain actions will create a mess in the future and it will effect their parent's life. For instance, a boy in our neighbourhood used to steal scrap things from other's house and no serious action was taken by their parents, despite complaining to them several times. After some years, he started stealing on a larger scale, which led to his arrest by police and now he is in jail serving his sentence and his parents are devastated. Therefore, he could have lived his life freely if parents would have taken serious action at that same time.

Secondly, improper supervision by parents can lead children to engage in negative activities. Some parents due to lack of time or in some cases laziness are not able to monitor their child properly, which gives children the room to participate in wrong activities. For example, one of my cousins, whose both parents were working was caught in breaking the windows of neighbours intentionally for fun and was beaten badly by one of the guy, fracturing his ribs. Thus, it is essential that parents are made responsible for their children's actions.

In conclusion, lack of supervision by parents and inability of children to understand the seriousness of matters can create issues for children at a young age. In my opinion, a law should be made to make parents accountable for the actions of their children.