Mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, plays a pivotal role in shaping our opinions and characters. What is your opinion?

A person develops a certain type of personality because of the environment he lives in. This includes exposure to media such as newspapers, TV and radio and is considered as the most effective in shaping our character and way of thinking. This essay will discuss how these mass media plays a vital role in the personality development.

To begin with, the humans learn from the exposure that they get in life. It may include schooling, friends and media but the media is the most primary source of information for us as we are exposed for longer time to mass media in our daily routines. For instance, most of the family tend to watch TV in their free time and get information from it most of the times especially news. Thus, it is one of the effective source of learning.

Secondly, the purpose of media is to channelise the thoughts of a person in a required manner. This may be a requirement of government, opposition parties or some advertising companies. For example, continuously running the advertisement of KFC in the prime hours compels people to think about it , although it is unhealthy food but still they want to eat it. Therefore, the media have an important part in developing our thinking.

In conclusion, the media can play a vital role in our learning and shaping our overall personality including our opinions. In my opinion, media is the most effective in shaping our personality and thinking patterns.