people who go to live in other countries, should follow the customs and traditions of the new coun-try. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global economic recession, especially in developing countries, has obliged a growing number of people to abandon their mother-countries so as to lead a better life in developed countries. Albeit, this upward trend has resulted in a heated debate as to whether migrants should integrate themselves with their new home’s culture. From my standpoint, complying with destination country’s culture is an imperative prerequisite for people who have decided to settle their roots in a new country.

On the one hand, a sizeable number of individuals adhere to the idea of assigning cultural preservation as a high priority. They often argue that people should not simply evade their responsibilities for their national intangible heritages, ranging from their mother tongues to their costumes. They believe that people should do their utmost to ensure their children are exposed to the culture of their ancestors. In addition, some outspoken advocates of this perspective cite that cultural diversity may lead to a better co-operation within individuals since they will not feel any type of discrimination in society. Having accepted skilled workers of diverse nationalities with quite different backgrounds, and in some cases conflicting, Canada, these days, is renowned for its dynamic and effective society.

Although no one can explicitly deny the potentially positive aspects of living in a society consisted of various cultures, I tend to align myself with the latter opinion claiming that having a united nation, in which all citizens are willing to comply with the same culture can be more productive. People leave their homelands in search of a higher standard of living. One chief reason prettifying their main cause of migration might be lack of job security in their countries; thus, it appears advisable to urge them at least try to respect their hosts’ culture and make determined attempts in order to unify themselves with new rituals and values. Moreover, many employers are solely interested in recruiting job applicants who have obtained a higher level of social integration. Meaning that there would be a great likelihood of losing proper job opportunities, were newcomers to refute lining themselves with new conditions, including following dominating social values.

Taking all above-mentioned points into consideration, I need to reaffirm my allegation giving an emphasis to the importance of following the traditions of the country in which we are supposed to lead our rest of lives.