Problems and benefits for high school students study plays and works of theatres written centuries ago. Discuss and use your own experience.

The importance of high school students studying plays and works of theatres written centuries ago, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. It can be said that studying ancient drama has its own pros and cons. This essay will elaborate how these studies help the students understand culture and lifestyle of people of bygone centuries and how it also affects their mental growth and hence will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reason why studying the ancient plays and works of theatres is important, but the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that it helps students understand culture, tradition, lifestyle, of the people of bygone centuries. Furthermore, it helps the students understand human evolution through age and also human behavior. For instance, I was able to understand the Indian culture by reading Mahabaratha and Bagawatgeetha. Studying the ancient plays and works of theatres, therefore, can play a vital role in the high school student’s education.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can overwhelm the potential impact of the study of ancient drama, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it affects their mental growth. Furthermore, these ancient tragic, comic and romantic plays distract young minds and affect their mental growth and this escapism makes them more skeptical towards human dealings. Moreover, in this era of cut-throat competition, students are required to study modern science, which will help them in their future endeavors. Study of ancient drama, therefore, can play a vital role in affecting the mental growth of the high school students.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that the impact of the study of ancient plays and works of theatres is prominent, although the way it affects their mental growth should be well handled.