A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

Smartphones have greatly affected different facets of life. People can do variety of activities such as email, video call and exchange photos through these gadgets. However, this trend has deterioted handwriting quality. While a section of community has come forward to go paperless in schools, others are not in agreement with it. This essay will explain why writing is importance for the growth of children and necessary steps should be taken to promote writing oriented work in schools.

Firstly, writing is the first and foremost pillar of learning any language. The formation of letters, verbs and nouns help in absorbing the nuances of language. For example, one can read English only if he or she knows how a specific word is written. Therefore, writing must be promoted in schools and colleges.

Secondly, writing plays an important role in the development of any individual. Writing develops cognitive and imaginitive powers of a human brain. For example, a research has confirmed that novelists and columnists prefer writing their first draft on a paper than the computer. This helps them going deep into their thoughts to bring a quality piece of writing. Therefore writing should be duly promoted to improve mental abilities of mankind.

To conclude, people may be connected to different gadgets everytime but writing can improve their mental ability. In my opinion, more handwritten work should be given to children to improve their handwriting that will help them in their overall growth of their personality.