Road rules are generally enforced by fining people for infringements. Some people, however, believe that governments should not be penalized unsafe drivers but reward safe drivers instead.

Which view do you support?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about the road rules and reckless drivers. While it is possible to claim that governments should reward those who drive safely instead of punishing those who breach the rules. In my view, a more stable and flexible system is required regarding road rules. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

First of all, we cannot deny the risk of death while driving and unsafe drivers can be a big threat to anyone on the road. Therefore, to control the traffic and for the safety of the people, it is advisable to charge people for the road offences. For example, a decade before Saudi Arabia had the highest ratio of road accidents in the world but it has been reduced to the lowest by implementing strict laws and penalties.

On the other hand, It is claimed that the governments can initiate rewards for safe drivers which will not only raise awareness but it will educate and motivate the people towards road rules as well. For instance, countries like Bahrain, UAE have introduced a system of gifts for the good drivers and individuals tend to adhere to rules and regulations in order to receive the prize from the traffic department which can play a pivotal role in the road safety.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that both options of punishment and reward for drivers can be vital, however, it would be best for the authorities to introduce a balanced system to have an optimum control.