Should government build more roads to allow

more vehicle owner or improve the network of public

transport?

One of the most increasing problem in today's world is increasing in the number of vehicles on the roads. The importance of do government should build more roads or improve the public transportation was always a debatable topic. Many people believe that government should build more roads to accommodate more vehicles. Others reject this notion and claim that improving public transport is the only solution. In my opinion, latter proposition appears to be more rational. The following essay would further elaborate both side with examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, critics believe that possessing one's vehicle is the citizen choice and government should take appropriate actions to provide the space for cars on the roads. For example, in Sydney the number of vehicles increased from 20% to 60 % in last decade, so, therefore the number of roads increased exponentially.

On the other hand, there is a debate of arguments in favor of my stand. The most important one is that public transport is the only way to keep the traffic congestion in control. Not only can improve the public transport reduce the traffic jams and but can also decrease the environment damage caused by the increased cars. Improving public transportation can help people from all different classes including lower to upper middle class. For example, take newly build metro train route in India according to the ABC news: it reduced the traffic congestion up to 10 percent in the area.

According to the arguments aforementioned, one can reach out to conclusion that the benefits of strengthening transportation infrastructure are indeed too good to ignore and further the government has to take step to improve public modes of transport which not only reduces traffic but also decrease the global warming.