Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world.Why is this?What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

It is irrefutable to say that utilizing natural sources of energy like solar energy is more beneficial than consuming other sources of energy like petroleum, coal, etc., which are limited in amount. However, using solar energy to power one's home has its own advantages and disadvantages, and in this essay, I will discuss both faces of utilizing solar energy in detail.

Firstly, Solar energy is available free of cost and there is no dearth of it as it is harnessed from solar rays falling over Earth's surface. It is a clean source of energy and can easily replace existing ways to power one's home. People just need to install solar panels at the top of their houses, which converts solar energy into electricity and thus lighten up their house.

However, since sunlight is available only in day time, sometimes it could be an issue to utilize solar energy at night time. Also, setting up of solar panel in an individual house is still not affordable in developing and underdeveloped countries, hence everyone cannot afford solar panels in their houses. Efforts are needed to bring down the cost of the solar panel.

Overall, solar energy is clean form energy that is readily available, cheaper methods of converting solar energy into electricity can help solar energy becoming a popular source of energy to light up one's house.