“The solution to the overpopulation of this planet is education.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Write between 200 and 300 words

Planet earth is quickly becoming overpopulated. Natural resources are under pressure because of burgeoning cities that are sprawling across countries. This essay will discuss why education is in fact the best way to solve this problem; yet it will take significant time.

The more well educated countries on this planet are the ones that are having fewer children. There is a strong correlation between effective education systems and smaller families. Similarly, there is a strong correlation between a lack of education and larger families. When a country becomes better educated they have fewer children which results in a lessening of the pressure of overpopulation on this planet.

One of the main reasons why education is so important is that women can learn more about birth control. In many overpopulated countries women are poorly educated and some are even illiterate. A recent study has shown that when women are properly educated and literate they have greater decision making power over the number of children that they have. In short, educating women is one of the most important factors of curbing population growth.

This essay discussed how education can solve the pressing issue of overpopulation by analysing the connection between education and fewer children and the importance of educating women especially. In my opinion, education truly is the answer to sustaining a manageable population on this planet.