Urban sprawl is an increasing issue around the world. One way in which to solve this issue is to construct cities verically rather than horizontally. Are such cities a good idea?

Since the beginning the 21st century, number of people who live inside the cities has increased significantly, which forced many governments to transform into the construction of vertical cities rather than horizontal cities. Some people believe that constructing vertical cities is the best solution to overcome the urban sprawl, while others argue that adopting vertical cities is not a good choice and may lead to a negative consequences. This essay will discuss the reasons why adopting vertical cities does not provide the solution of the urban sprawl.

Adopting vertical cities to solve the problem of urban sprawl is not accurate because it leads to the traffic congestion. Building tallest towers leads to increase number of vehicles which affects on traffic flow. Recent research, which was conducted in the Cambridge University, has shown that adopting the idea of constructing the vertical cities has led to the traffic congestion in the most cities throughout the world. Therefore, it seems clear the adopting the vertical cities is not useful to solve the urban sprawl problem.

On the other hand, some people think that constructing vertical cities enables people to reach the cities centers more easily and within a short time. Most people these days are working at the cities centers, and living inside tallest building enables people to reach their offices in less than one hours. But these people are unaware of the fact that building vertical cities leads to traffic congestion. Thus, the problem of urban sprawl could not be solved through constructing vertical buildings.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the reasons why adopting the vertical cities does not solve the urban sprawl. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that urban sprawl problem is solved through right planning and good designing.