In Some Countries Around The World, Voting Is Compulsory. Do You Agree With The Notion Of Compulsory Voting?

The topic of compulsory voting in a democratic society as prevalent in over twenty nations is undeniably a controversial topic. Under the mandatory voting system, the eligible citizens, often starting at age 18 register for and participate in the democratic election of representatives. While there are many who disagree with the notion of compulsory voting, I am in favor of it.

The practice of compulsory voting results in higher voter turnout and produce governments with more stability, legitimacy and a genuine mandate to govern. The most beneficial aspect of it is an informed citizen, an enhanced caliber of representatives and better decisions. The system as a whole not only benefits offices and also benefits all individuals.

For instance, one of the most well-known compulsory voting systems is in Australia. Prior to the 1924 compulsory voting law, the voter turnout was as low as 47% which soon jumped to between 91% and 96%. Some people perceived advantages to compulsory voting are the stimulation of broader interest politics, as a sort of civic education and political stimulation, which creates a better-informed population. In Australis, the voters who do not turn up could face a moderate fine while, in some countries like Belgium, the voters who don’t turn up could face prosecution or harsh punitive action.

In a nutshell, it can be said that mandatory voting system in a democratic society is beneficial, however, its implication in a friendly manner is of vital importance. Like compulsory education, voting should also be made mandatory for a democracy to be a democracy.