In a war of ideas, it is people who get killed”. Does a common man suffer from a group’s ideology? Express your opinion, and support the same with reasons and examples.

A group's ideology can sometimes harm the general public. A famous saying that represents this is "In a war of ideas, it is people who get killed". I personally agree with this statement because it is evident that when various groups or parties with different ideas comes into an argument, it will usually hurt the public. A good example that can be used is the government.

Government usually consist of various groups or parties that have different approaches towards the betterment of the country. Whenever one party is unhappy with another due to a loss, they usually take it out on the residents by increasing costs of product or even properties. For example, if the current government does not obtain sufficient votes to win, they may reduce the benefits of the pension scheme. This is unfair for the residents as they have only minded their own business but still have to deal with these unfortunate events.

Secondly, government usually rolls out an idea on to the residents even though it is not accepted by the public. They claim that it will help the growth of industries in the country but never considered how the residents may feel. For example, government introduce projects despite the negative feedback from residents. In this case, it is clear that common man do indeed suffer from ideologies that have been forced onto them unwillingly.

In conclusion, it is true that in a war of ideas, people do get killed. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement as it is very clear that people are bound to get hurt if their opinions are not considered before deciding on an idea.