Some people believe that it is better for children to learn a second language at primary school. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this statement. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is irrefutable to say that, to succeed in the highly competitive world, a person must be bilingual or multilingual. Some analysts claim that primary school is the best place for learning another language, while others claim children should not be forced to learn. This essay will give assertion on both sides of contention before delivering plausible conclusion.

To begin, studying a foreign language in an early age has many advantages. Firstly, learning a foreign language is helpful for the growth of a child’s brain. A study by United Nations, for instance, has proved that learning any language other than the native’s mother tongue, activates various parts of the brain, which eventually make a child intelligent. Secondly, by studying foreign language, a child can easily communicate with Alien Land people and can understand their culture and lifestyle. For example, a Spanish person who has learned English always has an option to go to English speaking countries to seek employment as he has an upper edge over his peers who only speak Spanish.

On the other hand, putting excess pressure on kindergarten pupils to learn a foreign language have downsides also. It, indirectly, increases the burden of a primary school students. Moreover, children may get confused because of learning many languages at the same time and this could have a negative impact on their personality development. For example, it is claimed that bilingual children develop the ability to talk more slowly than monolingual kids.

In conclusion, the benefits of learning a foreign language in early age are apparently outweigh the drawbacks. I believe, a person equipped with more languages definitely help the society to make it more prosperous and flourished.