Is tourism in less developed countries an advantage or disadvantage? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is conspicuous that tourist industry has grown enormously over the last five decades and people are travelling from one country to another for many reasons. Considering this, some people opine that tourism has tremendous benefits to the developing countries that host it, while others argue it has lots of drawbacks. This essay will give assertion on both sides of contention before delivering a plausible conclusion.

To begin, there are significant benefits that tourism brings to a country. Firstly, a thriving tourist industry implies an increasing need for a variety of services such as hotels, transport, restaurants, and entertainment. This eventually results in increase in a number of jobs being created for people who lack a college education. Secondly, tourism also helps to understand the foreign culture more deeply. For instance, many tourists go to India and live there for many years and get first-hand experience of its culture. Moreover, tourism is a "Green Industry” and generates a low level of pollution.

On the other hand, there are some harmful aspects of tourism. A country may suffer from the loss of their traditional culture. For instance, youngsters in Third World nations try to copy a lifestyle, customs, and language of tourists. This may vanish their traditional culture radically. Furthermore, to gravitate more tourists and profits, the government are doing deforestation and building attractive places, because of it, carbon contents are increasing and causing much health-related problems.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that, a nation should seek to develop its tourism industry because it boosts its economy and improves relationship with other countries. However, proper rules and regulations must be created by higher authorities to protect nation’s environment.