Some people believe law changes human behavior. Do you agree or disagree?

The progress of a country depends on the regulation of laws. Laws are the rules laid by the government for the smooth functioning of the country. Laws play an integral role in the society. They help to regulate and keep check on everything. They assist in creating discipline and maintaining peace in the society. Laws influence human behavior. While there are reasons to support that laws influence human behavior positively, I still believe that they have a negative impact on the society as well. At the outset, laws help to restrict human behavior and motivate people to be obedient. For instance, fines are levied for jumping red lights. The fear of penalty leads to obedience in human behavior .As a result, people abide by the laws. Moreover, the fear of death penalty also helps in abating heinous crimes to some extent. Thus, laws like corporal punishment, ban on alcohol etc. play a significant role in creating better and responsible citizens. However, stringent laws might affect the society negatively. To illustrate, if a person is arrested for a petty crime, then he might be instigated by criminals in prison for bigger crimes and this will transform an innocent person to criminal. In addition, there are a few countries where stringent laws have curbed the freedom of people. Hence, laws can have negative implications. To conclude, I would like to say that law and order should be made to make the world a better place to live and where people can enjoy their rights. They should be not so rigid that they undermine the freedom of the society. Moreover, it is the responsibility of the regulatory authorities that they spread awareness of the benefits of laws so that they influence human behavior positively.