Some people think law changes human behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

Law is defined as a set of rules and regulations developed by government institutions. While some people think that human behaviour is shaped by the legal system, others argue that the rules and regulations do not influence human behaviour. This essay will discuss how legal system shapes human behaviour in society.

Human society has developed complex legal system with a standard set of rules based on local culture. These rules are commonly accepted among the local people and act as a standard guideline in social interaction between humans. The rules and regulations are inherited and developed from generation to generation. By which mean, children are educated to follow the law and the law is kept up-to-date to the development of the society. As a result, law changes the way that human behaves.

Law is established and updated by human to promote good behaviours and punish bad behaviours. Law describes in detailed negative behaviours and its punishments to enforce people to follow. For instance, difference levels of punishment are introduced to prevent negative behaviours that go against other people or society benefits. Such carrot and stick approach encourage people to behave in a better manner and prevent people to do bad things.

Human creates law and law influences human behaviour in social context. This essay discussed how law shapes human behaviour through educating younger generation and setting out punishments to prevent bad behaviours.