Some universities deduct students’ scores or penalize them for late submission of assignments. What is your opinion about it and what are the possible solutions.

Ample of universities nowadays have adopted the method of giving students less scores or punishing them for late deliverance of assignments. Whether it is a judicious step or not has become a moot point of discussion. However, I am inclined towards the fact deducting students marks will make pupils more diligent and attentive towards their project but sometimes it could be problematic for weak ones and students with genuine reasons.

To commence, there is no ambiguity to say that, fear of punishment for late submission of projects does not let learners get indolent, and keeps them focused towards their goal. Evidently, students also learn discipline and time management which will be of utmost value for them in their future endeavors. As an illustration, pupils working in the distinct fields such as IT, engineering, medical and journalism etcetera will always finish their task in the given time frame as they would have learned the paramount value of time in university. Hence, fear of deduction in marks makes students perform better.

Although there should some alternatives or exceptions for the learners with genuine reasons and weak students. Teachers should provide extra time to the students who have authentic reasons such as family issues, health problems and lack of resources etcetera. For instance, sometimes a family member of a student may fall prey to a deadly disease for which one has to be hospitalized, therefore it gets extremely difficult for the student to give full concentration on project as he has to take care of his beloved one simultaneously. Hence, leniency should be showed among them, and also proper guidance should be delivered to weak students through books and material.

Succinctly, deduction of students late submission of project is justifiable in case of careless pupils, but not for the genuine and vulnerable ones.