Television has many useful functions to play in everyone's life, for some, it's relaxation, for some, it is the companion. Discuss your viewpoint and support your answer with examples and discussion point.

Once 'idiot box,' televisions have come a long way to take up their new avatar of 'smart TVs.' Indeed, there could be one reason behind calling it an idiot box, but today, there are many reasons why we don't just label as a smart TV, but also a companion. 'Life is not all beer and skittles,' and each one of us has a lot to do in routine. While stress, depression, and work pressure are unavoidable for most, television comes as a rescue to your boredom and agony.

Today, televisions offer a myriad of entertainments ranging from the world famous series to internationally acclaimed and award winning movies, and from adrenaline-pumping sports to the news with added spices! It is beyond any question that with hundreds of satellite channels that too in HD, televisions leave no stone unturned to entertain people from all walks of life.

For some, it is a companion. Why shouldn't it be? After all, the smart TV allows you to access the Internet and thus brings your cyber world on a bigger screen. Many vacation-lovers depend on travel channels to choose their next destination; fitness freaks plan their workout as shown on the fitness channels, and children can be settled on cartoons for long!

Televisions have the capacity to engage anyone of any age; it has content for everyone. With the Internet connection on your smart TV, you don't need to depend on other gadgets or sources. I can conclude that it can be a true companion for each one of us.