Tobacco mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drug in the world. Over a billion adult smoke tobacco everyday. The long term health costs are high- for smokers themselves and and for the wider communities in term of health care cost and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Smoking has extremely detrimental effects on health. Some people think that governments need to play a pivotal role to protect citizens from smoking, while others maintain that the harmful effects of smoking can only be better understood by the individuals. This essay will discuss that how government should take appropriate measures to discourage and eliminate this habit in its citizens.

Firstly, a large number of people are being attracted to smoke cigarettes. In this regard, governments need to take into account suitable measures to limit the use of cigarettes. As a matter of fact, a smoker not only harms himself but also pollutes the environment and effects the public around. Therefore, to discourage individuals governments should ban smoking cigarettes in public and well as indoor places. This act of government will result in decline of ratio of smokers.

Furthermore, governments need to be instrumental and take into account various measures to curb the trend of smoking. While, extra taxes should be imposed, sale of open or loose cigarettes should be banned too. As as example, in my country sale of loose and open cigarettes has been banned to minimize the trend of smoking. Additionally, a recent survey has revealed that 70% of the patients suffering from heart diseases and heart attacks are smokers. As a result, the role of legislature is of paramount importance to make an individual aware as well demotivated.

In conclusion, aforementioned provide plausible ideas that governments should adapt. This essay has discussed that how governments can minimize the effect and trend of smoking by putting a ban on indoor smoking and increasing the amount of taxes on cigarettes.