Travel to study is over rated, we have brilliant scholars who studied locally. Is travel really required for higher studies?

The debate on whether tertiary students should travel for study is an old one, with attitudes of people shifting throughout the debate over the years. Proponents and opponents make their cases to support their views on this unresolved issue. In my opinion, travel is not necessary for tertiary studies especially when online courses are readily available.

There are numerous arguments surrounding my viewpoint, but the most important factor that should be considered relates to the cost savings of local studies. In other words, students do not need to pay exorbitant international student fees to study overseas when there are online courses for literally every subject topic from top ranking universities all over the world. Statistics from credible sources also reveal that all top 10 universities in the world offer distance learning options for hundreds of industry relevant subjects at a fraction of the cost of international course fees. To elaborate further, few pertinent examples are Industrial Design and Fashion delivered online by Professors from Cornell and Harvard University. Hence, it will not be wrong to say that there is high probability in local brilliant scholars.

On the contrary, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It can be argued that international travel to study fosters intercultural understanding and acceptance. Critics also believe that studying overseas help make students independent and mature at a faster rate as they often have to take care of many matters on their own. However, those who advocate the viewpoint, fail to see the bigger picture.

In light of the above discussions, it seems fair and justifiable to say that travelling to study is over-rated and it is not necessary for students to travel for tertiary studies.