Universities marks deduct who students are late. Give your opinion and examples.

At university, students receive penalties for late submission of their assignments. This essay will discuss why due date and such punishments are mandatory and help to evaluate students’ performance.

Coursework assessment for higher education is time limited and failing to meet the deadline results in the mark deduction of final marks. Similar to a workplace, it is mandatory to complete tasks within a limit time frame so that a sequence of tasks leads to a positive outcome. Penalties due to late submission educate students to manage their time effectively and ensure the quality of their submitted assignments. This helps to prepare students for future workforce where time is the one of the most important factor in workplace. As a result, it is necessary to give mark deduction to those who fail to meet the given deadline.

Due date and penalty can be used to evaluate students’ performance. There are numerous reasons why students fail to meet their deadline. Most likely, this occurs when the students do not spend enough time on the task or start working on it very close to the due date. Consequently, they cannot find the answer or any approach to solve the problem. Late submission indicates lack of time management and inability to carry out an intensive research within a limit time. It will be unfair for those who submit their assignment on time to be equally assessed as those who fail to meet the deadline. Therefore, marks should be deducted for late submission.

This essay has argued that punishment should be applied when students submit their assignment late as this prepares students for future workforce and encourages them to meet the deadline. In my opinion universities should deduct marks from student who do not meet deadlines for their assignments.