Some organizations integrate employees in decision making process of their goods and services. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this

In most organizations, employees are encouraged to give opinions and contribution in decision making process of company’s products and services. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of this management strategy.

Engaging employees in the decision making process creates an open organizational structure. The structure allows for a free flow of information and utilization of the staffs’ experience. It is evident that employees are those who directly deal with customers and other stakeholders. Together with their previous experience on similar role in other companies, they are more likely to come up with an instant and practical solution to any arisen problem. An open organizational structure encourages employees to contribute their opinions and improve the overall performance of the organizations.

However, this management strategy may be impractical for large-sized organizations. In order to make the strategy works, top – level managers need to constantly update and be very open for discussion. A simple organizational structure and effective communication method are also necessary so that the voice of employees can be heard and applied effectively. These are great challenges to large scale organizations. In fact, these companies always establish certain procedures and administrative processes to maintain their own standard quality. As a result, when employees’ idea reaches the managers and final decision is made, it is no longer an effective solution.

To conclude, although a well-organized structure is required to effectively engage employees in the decision making process, getting employees involved in such process helps to improve to the final products and services.