“Vegetarianism is a more ethical practice then eating meat”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Vegetarianism has become increasingly popular in recent times. People often choose to become vegetarian because it is considered to be more ethical than being a meat eater. This essay will discuss the reasons why vegetarianism is in fact a much more ethical eating practice when compared to eating meat.

Vegetarianism is more ethical than eating meat because it does not harm animals. Clearly, harming animals causes suffering, which is unethical. For example, millions of chickens are killed each day for human consumption. Vegetarianism does not participate in the killing of animals, which is a much more ethical practice than eating meat.

Vegetarianism is also much more ethical than eating meat because its impact on the environment is far less. Growing vegetables is good for the environment, whereas farming animals impacts the environment. Beef cattle for instance, destroy top soil and damage the atmosphere. Vegetarianism is more ethical practice because it does not harm the natural world.

This essay discussed how vegetarian eating practices do not harm animals or damage the environment. In my opinion, vegetarianism is a far more ethical than eating meat.