A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

Handwriting skills are decreasing among students thanks to technology. While some believe the importance of keeping the teaching handwriting technique others support to stop teaching this skill at schools. This essay will discuss why handwriting should not be avoided among youngsters.

To begin with, handwriting breaks the barriers of knowledge once who write by hand is capable of memorizing large amounts of information. Certainly, these students become effective writers able to develop interesting essays. For example, journalists who are known as talented writes and barely use any technologic device to do their work. The process of memorization of information overpass the boundaries through writing by hand.

In addition, the avoidance of handwriting is responsible for children become ineffective writers. Obviously, these students will be affected by this weaknesses when starting university. For instance, high school scholars who are not able to write a 150 words essay due to the unstoppable use of tablets. Youths become unskilled writers avoiding writing by hands.

This essay discussed why handwriting is important to gather information and how the avoidance of writing by hands turns into a problem for children in the future. In my opinion, I believe that schools should keep teaching handwriting skills.