Violence portrayed on TV and in the movies leads to an increase in our society. People who watch violent movies are more likely to become criminals. Do you agree or disagree.

Violence is one of the ways in which repressed emotions may emerge. Society at large, acts as a form of social control against small instances of violent behaviour and at higher levels of pathological violence, we have the law and the mental health authorities that can intervene to put an end to this menace. I do not believe that watching movies, and crime related shows on television can impact any individual so deeply that he or she starts resorting to violence.

While there can be several motives for violent acts including anger, vengeance jealousy, mental illness or bigoted religious beliefs, we can certainly ascribe some of these to the way society functions rather than to the consumption of media.

The prime reason for the rise in violent crime, according to me, is the disintegration of the family system, and the rise of small independent households along with personal autonomy. All this has been accompanied by a reduction in the amount of social control over our actions. We are no longer as accountable to our friends, family, or colleagues, as in the past. The nature of our fast-paced personal lives is such that we may not be aware of what our next-door neighbour is up to.

The economics behind the agenda of politically motivated and religiously motivated violence is further testament to the fact that TV shows and movies cannot really instigate violence, as strongly as the lure of money.

Another point to consider is the fact that we constantly being bombarded with new movies and shows, therefore, we are quite numb to the violence depicted on our screens as we are accustomed to it now. Therefore, as global citizens of the 21st century we are less likely to engage in violent behaviour.