“In a war of ideas, it is people who get killed”. Does a common man suffer from a group’s ideology? Express your opinion, and support the same with reasons and examples.

It is conspicuous (clearly visible) that, throughout history, the thinking of a group of people is impacting the lives of thousands of civilians. Whether it is considered on a political or social level, a set of decisions of a group explains how a society should work. I completely agreed that, in the conflict of interest between different countries or different groups, it is the innocent people who sacrifice their lives.

To begin with, if ones have different ideas and beliefs regarding religion, culture, and politics than others, it may result in clashes or conflicts. In addition, the situation becomes more problematic and dangerous when this is between two larger groups rather than individuals; it refers to as a war of ideas.

First of all, during World War II, a group of countries namely US, UK and China attacked Japan with explosive atomic bombs destroying the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, killing more than one lakh civilians. This is a clear example of the decision laid by a few countries against Japan to surrender to its allies. Though, these countries achieved victory in their mission but Japanese people are still suffering from the radioactive radiation effect which resulted in blindness and mental disorders. Thus, we can say that political ideologies (a system of ideas and ideals) of a group can drastically harm society.

In addition, September 11 attacks on US by a group of 19 militants, associated with Islamic extremist group, hijacked four airplanes and killed around 3,000 people by colliding airplanes into symbolic US landmark. This example clearly shows how the decision and planning of these terrorist activists took lives of thousands of innocent people.

To conclude, I restate that conflicts of ideas are inevitable(unavoidable) so individuals should respect the ideas of others so that this world can be more peaceful and prosperous.