What are the pros and cons of staying connected on social media for 24 hours a day.

Nowadays, usage of social media has become a trend and people tends to stay online for whole day. However, there are both merits and demerits of staying connected at social media for 24 hours a day. In this essay we will discuss the drawbacks and benefits of using social networking sites on daily basis for 24 hours.

To begin with, social media is a kind of addiction and it has changed the normal way of our lives. Two decades earlier, sleeping habits of people were quite strict but today people likes to sleep late because social media has become a weakness for them. For instance, a recent study suggests that students who do not sleep in time because of staying online on social sites are found to be less efficient and more lazy in class rooms. Therefore, it is evident that the using social media every time has far reaching negative impacts not only on our society but on our health as well.

On the other hand, using social media for 24 hours a day can keep us updated about news and entertainment. It also provided us a convenient entertainment on our finger tips. For example, social media collectively provide all sorts of channels on a single platform which enables the users to have a glance on everything together without the need of scrolling different TV channels. Hence, it is apparent that why many proponents are in favor of using social media for 24 hours a day.

This essay discussed how social media is effecting our health by keeping us entertained all the time. In my opinion, excess of everything is bad and consequently, usage of social media for 24 hours a day is having more disadvantages as compared to its benefits.