What are some of the Pros and Cons of extreme/adventure sports?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in extreme sports. There is a wide range of factors that account for why people do extreme sports including bungee jumping, river rafting, skiing, and motorcycle racing. There is an unending debate among people about adventurous sports. This essay will examine pros and cons in detail of extreme sports with help of few examples in the following paragraphs.

On one hand, there are myriad of advantages of the extreme sports. One of the most important is that these sports build self-confidence in individuals. For example, by doing river rafting one overcomes his fear of water, which helps in building his confidence. In addition, such sports help in promoting the positive attitude and building team spirits. The positive attitude benefits people to face hurdles of life confidently. Furthermore, it is irrefutable that sportspersons get fame and money by winning various competitions.

On the other hand, many people believe that extreme sports have few drawbacks because these sports are very risky. Extreme sports done without required equipment and supervision, are very dangerous and even life-threatening. For example, river rafting without wearing life jacket can be risky. Therefore, such events may lead to maiming permanently or even death. In addition, sometimes, people don’t complete study and indulge much in these activities. Therefore, such people cannot find lucrative jobs.

In summary, as explained in aforementioned paragraphs, there are unlimited advantages and disadvantages of adventurous sports. It helps in building confidence, team-spirit and overcoming fear. However, people should perform these sports carefully.