"When computer first appeared on the scene, it was thought they would make us more productive in providing goods and services, smarter and possibly happier. Sceptics claim that the opposite is true as computers have proved disappointing in terms of productivity, and have made us less happy and more stupid because information is not knowledge.

Which of these points of view do you agree with most? Support your agreement with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and observations.

Computers are widely used in every corner of the world to facilitate the big and difficult task efficiently and effectively. The important part of the computer technologies cannot be denied in any sense even if it has some demerits that some people believe a threat to the life.

It is obvious that everybody love to have computers at work, school, home and industries. Not only it is portable but the speed, accuracy and reliability, at which the tasks can be performed, is admirable. The popularity of computer is increasing as huge amount can be done in very short period which minimizes cost resulting great productivity. For example, computers are used in sophisticated scientific works to perform calculations that human cannot finish in decades such as storing terabyte of data and information. Thus, the life is as easier and convenient as possible in every sector.

In some extent computers create digital divide as in some areas of the world are deprived from the access of computers and internet. Similarly, the versatility of computers usage can diminish the human intellectual ability as heavily reliance on computers for every single piece of work. For, example, using calculator from school level will harshen their brain and ultimately they will not be able to do small calculations using brain. This creates a threat to human intelligence level in the future. There is no need to study if every single task is performed by computers. Consequently, the rate of unemployment is becoming the major problem in the world.

The advantages of computers are undeniable and inevitable for human beings. Today's life style that everyone is enjoying is due to the innovations of computer technologies. Even if we cannot deny the fact that computer makes human mind dull, the widespread contentment it provided is incredible.