Whether formal writing examination is a good way to assess students learning?

With the advancement of education methodologies some may question the validity of formal writing examination. Some people may argue that formal writing examination is still the most effective way to evaluate students while others maintain that it is an old technique in modern internet age. This essay will discuss the importance of having different methodologies to assess students learning instead of using formal writing examination.

Use of formal writing examination method to asses students learning is questioned by modern society. There are several ways to examine students learning with the advancement of technology. Teachers can use PowerPoint presentations, simulation using computer software or even building a prototype to assess the student’s learning outcomes. Since there are many interesting but valid methodologies to evaluate students, teachers should not only use writing examination to evaluate students.

Some may argue that formal writing examination gives ability to evaluate students equally. This argument can be nullified since some students are better presenting their learning through audio and visuals rather than using a written paper. Leonardo Davinci was a good painter while Shakespeare could express his learning through writing. Formal writing examination should be used as one of the evaluation methods with many other available methods.

With the development of technology, it is required to evaluate the formal writing examination method to assess students learning. In my opinion it is better to use mix of different student evaluation methods than using formal writing examination only.