Whether voting should be compulsory

In some countries, voting has been made compulsory. Advocates of compulsory voting argue that participation in elections is a citizen’s civic responsibility; opponents claim that compulsory voting is a violation of freedom associated with democracy. I am inclined to believe that the concept of mandatory voting fails the realization of democracy and following paragraphs will discuss what conclusions can be drawn about the nature of democracy when voting is compulsory in a democratic government.

First of all, some people consider higher voter turnout will result in a more legitimate government. However, it is debatable whether a higher number of voters in an election would result in accurate results. As an example, the data yielded by the University of Oxford proves that when people are obliged to vote against their free will, they tend to check off a candidate at random, which ultimately impacts the legitimacy of the elected president. Second of all, the notion of compulsory voting goes against the philosophy of democracy. The citizens of a democratic government are privileged to choose their own representatives; therefore, despite what proponents of compulsory voting claim, it should also provide the nation with the freedom not to participate in elections. For instance, according to a survey conducted across the USA, the majority of Americans think that mandatory voting would not only create an image of an oppressive government but also the majority of the population would resist the concept in one way or another.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that voluntary voting is more consistent with the nature of democracy. It is expected that the governments take cognizance of this fact and enhance the political sophistication of the electorates through education rather than resort to radical measures such as compulsory voting.