While prisons should punish criminals, others believe that the primary function of the prison is to help them how to have better lives. What do you think is the main purpose of the time spent in prison: punishment or rehabilitation?

In this modern era there is an ongpoing deliberation among people on punishment and rehabilitation of prisoners. While some people argue that prisoners should be punished on the crimes, on my point of view prisoners must rehabilitate inside the prisons. In this essay, I shall discuss factors in strengthening my point of view while analyzing both the advantages and disadvantages of rehabilitation.

First and foremost, the society can experience myriad of benefits through rehabilitation such as increasing quality of life of the society by ensuring social security as well. As an example if a prisoner is rehabilitated inside the prison he will learn lot of things about their life and they can get vocational training during that time period which will definitely help that person to survive in the future. In addition, rehabilitation will help them to get into the society without hesitation.

On the other hand, some people think that prisoners shoud be punished inside the jail. For instance, if prisoners are punished on their offence that will tend them to hate the society than their early life. Moreover, once they are released to the society they will continue their early life because they do not have a proper way to earn their bread. However, countries who believe in punishment have not experienced decrease in crime rate compared with the countries who believe in rehabilitation.

In conclusion, it is recommended to introduce more and more vocational training courses for the prisoners such as carpentary, motor mechanism, bakery and etc. It is also believed that government should ensure fair distribution of resources to majority of the population to mitigate the depression of the people which is the main cause for crimes. Finally, governments should also improve the facilitities inside the prison to minimize the frustration of the prisoners.