Work from home or travelling to workplace

Nowadays, some company offer flexibility for their employee such as working on flexible hour or even working from own space like home. However I disagreed that it would be better if employees able to work from home instead of travelling to workplace every day. This essay will discuss about the disadvantages of home working and the examples.

There is no doubt that working at home will save some travel time for employee. However, without any supervision, the work done will be inefficient. As people tend to slack when nobody around, especially when they are in comfortable area, people might not focus on the work task that given by company but do their own things such as TV watching, lunch cooking or resting during working hour. Unless CCTV is allowed in private space, otherwise there is no way to find out what employee did during the working hour.

Moreover, not all jobs are suitable for work at home. Some workplaces required employees to station such as office admins to deal with walk-in customer, and without the support of their colleagues who are working from home, it will cause the hassle to telecommunicate with them instead of ask directly from behind desk.

In a nutshell, working from home might save the travel time, but it is not only cause the inefficiency of work, but also cause the hassle and inconvenience for office employee. Hence, in my view, cons overweight pros of working at home.