The world is becoming a smaller place because of globalization. Some people dread that culture will inevitably disappear as a result. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people agree with the idea that globalization would deprive local communities of cultural distinctiveness. Others disagree. For the following reasons, I believe that this notion may be misunderstood. First, it may be an opportunity to reevaluate one’s own culture; second, culture may be further developed by practices from other cultures.

To begin with, whereas globalization makes people similar on the surface, a trend in rediscovering one’s own local culture has been surging. Homogeneity, that some people fear, is no more than one aspect of globalization. In order to see this point clearly, let us use an example. Japanese sake which is a traditional alcoholic beverage has been drunk by choice by young people since the beginning of the 21st century. As such, sales of sake have soared in recent years. This example shows that traditional culture is being embraced by young people even in the globalized world.

In addition, various cultures around the world may be incorporated into one’s own culture. In fact, we can observe this easily in modern society. Let us take Japanese sake again as an example. The technique in making Japanese sake has not changed since ancient times. With the introduction of sommeliers from the French, who judge everything from the taste to the smell of alcohol, the quality of Japanese sake has improved dramatically. This example reveals that the emergence of practices from other cultures can improve one’s own culture.

As mentioned above, I do not agree that globalization takes away cultural originality. This is because it would be a chance to reevaluate one’s traditional culture, and it is an opportunity to develop one’s own culture as well.