You are given climate as the field of study. Which area will you prefer? Explain why you picked up the particular area for your study?

All over the world today, it can be observed that the issue of climate change has grown in importance over the past few decades. Therefore, if I were given climate as my field of study, I would like to study the underlying causes of this devastating global phenomenon and possible solutions to tackle this.

To begin with, a variety of reasons can be offered to explain why I would choose this particular area of study. Foremost among these is the fact that we have been experiencing the hottest 15 years on record in the last two decades. Linked to this is the fact that millions are at risk of drought, chronic water shortages, bushfire, coastal flooding and hazardous air pollution. As the above-mentioned points make it clear, it can hardly be denied that the issues of climate change must be addressed with a sense of urgency.

But what really is the proper role for individuals and institutions in addressing climate change? An immediate and natural response may be that everyone should do their part. As individuals, we can help by taking action to reduce our personal carbon emissions. But to fully address the threat of global warming, we must demand action from our elected leaders to support and implement a comprehensive set of climate solutions such as transforming our energy system to a cleaner one, placing limits on the amount of carbon that polluters are allowed to emit, reducing tropical deforestation and its associated global warming emissions.

In conclusion, It is my considered opinion that if we were to put in place some of the solutions mentioned, we would at least be on our way to solving this problem. Therefore, I would like to play my part to contribute to the solution of climate change.