As languages such as English, Spanish, and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages

What is your view of this practice?

As the world becomes more integrated, language is considered as an indispensable means of communication. There is much-discussed controversy about how to preserve less influential languages due to the increasing use of some languages like English, Spanish, and Mandarin. In my opinion, while there is little to total to effectively prevent the extinction of some small languages, it is still crucial for individuals and governments to protect their own dialect.

On the one hand, globalization in this day and ae has led to inevitable consequences including the disappearance of some languages. In other words, as the goal of people is to understand each other, knowing and using common speech is essential to interpret most of the context. Therefore, in many international corporations, employers usually tend to recruit individuals using at least one more language besides their mother tongue. According to some surveys, employees in non-English speaking countries who can use English fluently got 20% higher employment rates compared to others. However, this could not be an incident for not taking care of one's native speech.

By preserving the language, people can also remain their culture, tradition, and history. Indeed, a nation that letting its own dialect die out may struggle with poor culture, less diversity, which eventually results in assimilation. Fortunately, many countries have taken some solutions to tackle this problem. Domestically, parents can pass down their language to their children through daily interaction. Moreover, authorities can provide exhortative scholarship for students if they are fully master their mother tongue. The grants can be either a free entrance to university or study aboard.

In conclusion, although some small dialects may disappear, I reconfirm that it is an individual's and government's responsibility to take initiative to minimize the outcomes as much as possible.