1.Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, arc

The argument revolves around Palean woven Baskets and its uniqueness. The author states that art of making the woven basket was a distinct and limited to Palean people, proceeding the argument to draw attention to the new study revealing that it was not a distinct feature of Palean community and it might have come from a different area which is unrevealed to us. My opinion on this argument is ambivalent as there are some points which should be known to conclude accurately.

If we carefully read the argument, it states that a distinct pattern of woven baskets was found from nearby areas of Palea and that is why they assumed that it was made by only Palean people. The author stated only an assumption and beliefs. It is possible that Palean community have gained this art from their ancestors which might belong to another tribe and after decaying of that tribe, it thoroughly transferred to Palean community

The stated argument further asserts that recent research by archeologists across Brim river reveals that those woven baskets are discovered in another area, Lithos, which is on opposite side of Brim from Palea. Also, the only way to reach Lithos from Palean is by boat and Paleans are not having any boat. That led the author's conclusion to state that the art of woven baskets is not ancient to Palea. Here, the author has not mentioned that the discovered amount of woven basket was in ample amount or there are very few. It is possible that Lithos people have procured some of those baskets and stored it which found after many years.

Also, it is possible that Brim river had flooded, flushing Palean and bringing some baskets to the Lithos. Lithos people stored it and used it. So, the argument needs some more clarification by which it can be concluded whether the art of woven basket is distinct or not and my views are skeptic towards the same.