25. The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe. "A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author argues that a jazz music club in Monroe would be a profitable enterprise. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidences lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author needs to provide more specific evidence that the C-Note would have the local market all to itself since the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. However, even though the closest club is far located, the C-Note may not take the entire share of market. For example, people in Monroe may prefer to use internet market which is convenient for its accessibility and which can provide benefits with reasonable price and coupons. Besides, most customers in Monroe just may not want to change their inured market to new one. Therefore, the C-Note may not be successful.

Second, more concrete evidence the author needs to provide is that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe. To support his claim, the author takes the number of attendance for jazz festival last summer, habitation of some jazz musicians, and the radio program highest-rated. However, those facts may seem unsound to be supportive. It is quite possible that the number of attendances for last summer jazz festival is aberration. Many people might join the festival to see just one famous singer or to be provided high promotion from the owner albeit they had no interest in jazz itself. In addition, it cannot be found appropriate co-relations between the habitation of jazz musicians and the popularity of jazz. The musicians may just live in Monroe because of its good weather and the infrastructure. Moreover, the main reason for the popularity of the radio program may be not because of citizen's interest in jazz but because of the intriguing host and airing time. Thus, without more specific evidence, the author's claim stands weak.

Lastly, the author needs to provide more concrete evidence the nationwide study which indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, the result of nationwide study cannot be generalized to that of Monroe. If the research company is based on another part of nation, it is quite possible that the expenditure of people in Monroe may not properly included. In addition, even though the study could be reliable and representative to Monroe as well, $1,000 per year expense may not indicate that the fans will spend all money for a jazz club. It is likely that their main expenditure for jazz would be instruments, for instance, a guitar or a drum. In such cases, the nationwide study may not be a sound basis for the author's claim.

In conclusion, the argument is unsound on many grounds. In order to bolster the argument, the author needs to provide more specific evidence on the nationwide study aforementioned.