The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author claims that Top Dog Pet Stores should start placing their own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the unwarranted assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that sales in the stores of Fish Emporium have increased due to the advertisement in the magazine Exotic pets Monthly. However, it is likely that other reasons yielded the increase in their sales. For example, the overall economic growth might result in the sales increase. If many of the people have gotten increased salaries due to the prosperous economic condition, it is quite likely that they have been willing to spend more money for raising their pets. In addition, if the stores of Fish Emporium have done several intriguing promotions for their products, their sales might have increased. Therefore, the advertisement abovementioned might not be the main reason for sales increase of Fish Emporium.

Another assumption the author makes is that 15 percent increase in sales of Fish Emporium is enough to evince that the marketing was successful. However, it is quite plausible that 15 percent increase in five years might not be substantial if the initial amount of sales was marginal. Moreover, even though 15 percent was a significant success for them, the sales increase showed was aberration. The market can be fluctuated by economic condition, thus, whether their marketing was successful need to be considered in more long term. Therefore, without clarification of success in Fish Emporium's marketing, the author's claim stands weak.

Lastly, the author assumes that Top Dog Stores can reverse the recent trend of declining sales and can start making a profit again if they start advertisement in Exotic Pets Monthly. Yet, it is possible that the mentioned marketing may not yield profits. For instance, if the price of advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets is exorbitant, their expenses will increase, and therefore, their profits might not be ameliorated, or even possible to decrease. In addition, the stores may rather to remain not advertising if the recent trend of declining sales is aberrant. In other words, the declined sales could be raised without further advertisement. Thus, the marketing the author recommended would not be helpful to increase profits.

In conclusion, the argument is unsound on many grounds. In order to bolster the argument, the unwarranted assumptions aforementioned need to be taken into consideration further.