The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In this argument, the author claims that the television station should expand their coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs to attract more viewers and to avoid losing further advertising revenues. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the unwarranted assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that most of the complaints concerned with their station's coverage was due to their decrease time to weather and local news. However, we need to consider whether viewer's complaints were substantial enough to change their policy. It is quite possible that complaints about scant weather and local news during past year were aberrant. If, during the past year, many people suffered from the aberrant weather, hurricane or flood for example, which was entirely different from the previous years, people might have a plethora of interests in the weather condition. In addition, if the local economy experienced depression last year, people could want to have some information on local news. Besides, if the entire number of complaints from viewers past year was marginal, it could be negligible. Thus, without specifying the complaints from clients, the author's claim stands weak.

Another assumption the author makes is that local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts because of less time to local news. However, there might be another reasons for their cancelation. It is quite plausible that the reason for the cancelation was not due to the coverage of the news but due to economic depression on nationwide. Most of the companies tend to reduce their promotion cost first when they need to cut their expanses. In addition, it is also likely that many companies canceled their contract since they wanted to change their promotion tools from existing television advertisement to internet banners or social media. In such case, there would not be concrete causal relationship between news coverage and cancelation of advertising.

Lastly, the author assumes that if they expand the coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs, they can attract more viewers and can avoid any further advertising revenues. Yet, the author seems to ignore the positive effects from increased airing time to national news. If most of local businesses are based not on local but on nationwide, or if they want to expand their business to out of local market, the increased national news might be more intriguing than local news. Moreover, since the news covers wide range of national issues, it could attract the customers who want to advertise their company. Thus, it is likely that retain to cover more time to national news might be better choice.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed on many grounds. In order to bolster the argument, the unsound assumptions aforementioned need to be taken into consideration.