49.The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory

and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

The conclusion of the president of Humana University is that, the online program conducted in Omni University could be used on Humana University as well, due to assumptions that, the results after implementing such project, an increase of enrollment and reduction of expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, are something expected by the high-ground of Humana University. But there are a number of holes within these assumptions and easily be challenged.

Firstly, the author begins with a statement that, newly enrolled students in Omni University had increased about 50% when compared to past years, thus stand for a huge leap on student number. Here, it is true that the rate is big, but does it equal to numbers? The answer should be answered by the original number of students, which is not shown in the passage, entered in that school. If that number was tiny in the past, like 100 students, so the newly enrolled students' rate will be 50% with only the number of 50. fifty new students could not enough to show the alleged success of online education. Moreover, what then is discussing is that the president assumes that allowing students study via internet would result in a substantial decrease in the expense for dormitory and classroom. Such argument is not for sure and unsound. Although the money spent on dormitory went down largely, we still have no information supporting that the original spent number was big, and the author also overlooks the income of providing dormitory to students. On condition that the income is more than the expenditure, author's argument will be undercut harshly. Hence, to make the argument more tenacious, the president should seek to more tenable evidence.

Secondly, an argument suggesting that the enrolment at Humana University fails to rise, which proposed by the president, has an underlying premise that if the rate does not rise, it goes down. However, apparently, it is wrong to conclude such argument. What if the number stay constant during the past 3 years? Perhaps the school has a steady attraction to students. Also, the writer implies that the cost of repairing exacerbate their fiscal situation. Here, no statistics are given to indicate the ratio of the cost to the budget, and fails to take the benefits brought by dormitory into account. The author, consequently, ostentatiously asserts the correlation of the cost and budget deficit, making his argument vulnerable in logic. Addition to it, the basic situations of the two universities vary a lot. Are their teaching targets the same? Or does the Humana University suit online program? For the first question, only the president knows, his school's target is to earn money or to gain reputation. I am not denying the quality of internet teaching, but we do need to focus on the online degree's high possibility of cheating compared to face to face traditional form. And for the latter one, if the content taught in Humana University is in the area of art or drawing, which is highly practical-ability required, the class quality will be not as well as before.

In a nutshell, the argument as the author stands in the passage is flawed due to the considerable paucity of solid evidence and several pieces of wishy-washy findings that are inaccurate. So the writer should conduct more research of the differences between two universities and the statistics of fiscal situations