The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

humana university is seeking to start a online degree program to increase the intake As statistic given by author shown there enrollment at humana university has failed to grow from last three years and in turn they need to make some changes.

but according to author omni university intake is increased by 50% but its not clearing showing that actual number of students get increased from when the online program is started. if total number of intake is very less number in last year then 50% can increase only small number of students. hence there might not be chance to increase intake based on starting of online program.

The statistic given by author is only for one university and assuming that same will happen for humana university. but this assumption can fail if location, rank or any other offering given by omni university may increase their intake hence study should be done on more university with same rank or same rated by some other regulatory bodies for taking decision.

Furthermore, regariding expenditure incurred for dormitory and classroom space is reduced only because omni university started online program is weak argument. there could be other possibilities or processes carried out in campus of omni university which help to low expenditure.

In conclusion we can state that to make low expenditure on dormitory and classroom we cant rely only on starting online program but more study need to be conducted for same.