The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the president of Humana University avers that to increase student enrollment and reduce budgeting, the university should promote and implement online learning procedure. This argument is based on the increased enrollment of online studies that Omni university compared to the previous years and their record of declined expenditures on maintaining the dormitory and classrooms. However, for this argument to hold, this assumption needs to be critically examined.

Firstly, the president of Humana University is using the 50 percent increase in the previous year to come to his conclusion. However, it is possible that there was an endemic that affected the location of Omni University and resulted in students enrolling online and not using the school's resources such as classes and dormitory. If this is the case, thus the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, Human University and Omni university could be very different in terms of the course of study they offer and inherently, this may influence the type of student they attract. Omni university could be offering courses that are mostly suitable for working class students. And as such, most of the would enroll online while Humana University courses may be more technical courses that require laboratory techniques like the medical sciences courses or the engineering courses. Hence, promoting an online option may not increase the number of enrollment at Humana University nor reduce the university's spending.

Moreover, other factors might have increased the number of students' enrolled or decreased the expenses. For instance, Omni University might have improved the resources at the school or decreased tuition fee to attract more people to enroll to the university. And the caliber of the students they took in may have reduced the expenditure since the spending could be more on fixing damages done by students. And Omni University may have enrolled students who do not damage the university properties. If this were to be the case, the argument would be significantly weakened.

In conclusion, if the assumptions above were to be true, the promoting online enrollment would not reduce expenditure nor will it increase students' enrollment.