According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author recommends that all colleges and universities should adopt the same honor code system as Groveton College in order to prevent cheating in the exam with the belief that it will dramatically reduce the cheating behavior. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, it is questioned that the author presumes, without justification, that Groveton College's students actually reduce their cheat records because their college adopts the code system. Granted, it is possible that students' less cheat in the exam rooted in they are afraid of it would damage their academic record. However, there is a potential that students are in the same line, which means they worked together to cheat in the exam but decided not to notify the faculty numbers - which also accounts for the drop of reported cheat cases during years. If it is true that students still cheat after the implementation of this system, then the author's assumption that fewer students cheat is definitely invalid.

Secondly, the author further assumes, the smaller number of reported cases in 5 years showed the effectiveness and credibility of the honor code. It seems that the number of cheating is decreasing, but without knowing the number of gross students, can we draw this conclusion fairly. There is a possibility that the total number of students in 5 years is in a decline, thus made the number of reported cheat behavior decrease. For example, the number of students in the 5th year is half the number of 1st year, but the figure of reported cases of cheating in 5 years later is more than half of the 1st year. If this scenario has merit, this conclusion cannot hold water.

Finally, even though this system worked well in Groveton College, it is also needed to investigate whether it is feasible to apply this system to other colleges and universities. Maybe other schools have their own way to deal with such problems, or maybe with the strict rules of honor code, fewer students are likely to continue their studies in that school, which would damage the reputation and recruitment of that school. If the above is true, then taking the same system will undoubtedly bring unexpected problems to other schools.

Overall, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more information to answer these questions, therefore, it is possible to fully evaluate the soundness of the recommendation that whether this honor code is helpful for reducing the cheating behavior and whether it is feasible to apply this system to other colleges and universities.