Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggests that terminating a pupil assessment of professors because the average score has been arisen by 30 percent since the teacher evaluation procedure started in omega university and the alumni have not been good in career after graduation compared to the nearby alpha university. some musing over evidence is first very much in order before taking any steps.

The writer claims that the grade has risen by 30 percent since the evaluation procedure started and the potential workers believe that would be an inflation that implying the sudden grade improvement results from the teacher who wants students to leave high evaluation results toward the course he taught. however, the credentials of the connection is unclear and more evidence is required to present before we trust the potential workers. it would be correct if the observation is done with authoritative, 3rd party, disinterested institution with fully representative samples and validation. still, it could be a different story. For example, the assessors who have inclination on the objection against the teacher evaluation procedure just took some deviated or special cases, not fully representative, to claim the counterproductive of the assessment system. therefore, the author has to provide the counterpart evidence of the potential workers to strengthen the argument.

Additionally, the alumni who haven’t been as successful at getting jobs as nearby alpha university could be a reason that the system is not effective as expected. however, the counterpart evidence is not described before jumping into a conclusion, the background of two schools and previous employment rate of alumni. because we don’t know about the details of two schools, it is unclear and insufficient evidence to say the policy would fail. For example, probably the alpha university has been an industrial school famous of its technical courses that big companies would like to hire the alumni who could have ability to do the job without training. In contrast, students in omega university are more likely to favor the literal jobs that is scarce today, and the unemployment rate has been lower than the other long time. therefore, we could not say the cause of failure is the teacher assessing policy, the author has to provide evidence mentioned above to make it more persuasive.

Even if two schools have the same environment, condition and background, some evidence is still lacking, the comparison between year to year of before and after the policy. For example, the employment rate of alumni of omega university was 80% before the assessment and 85% after it while that of omega university has always been around 90%. In this case, conceivably, the policy would be beneficial instead of failure. The writer needs to provide the credential of evidence to make the argument more convincing.

In conclusion, the author has to address the evidence mentioned above to make the argument more cogent.