According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

In this editorial, it describes how cheating among college and university student is elevating and it is becoming a major concern. In Counter to the Act, Groveton college has came up with a solution to reduce the cheating cases in their college by adopting an honor code instead of teachers monitoring the students. However, before adopting the honor code as the solution in all colleges and universities following three questions must be answered.

Firstly, Groveton’s college reports suggest that there was a decrease in the number of students cheating. There might be many different reasons, For example, if the student who has been caught by his fellow student won't report the faculty about the cheating. In this way, they might have made a mutual understanding of not reporting each other to the faculty member. This not only endangers the strategy to overcome the cheating in college but hinders the faculty’s responsibilities.

In Addition, College claims that when teachers monitored the students closely there were thirty cases reported per year. There might be a case where students would have cheated in their academics more wisely. So that they were not caught by the faculty and there is no data how much students were monitored by a particular faculty. In a college or University there might be thousands of students so it is not practical to keep a watch on a particular student whole time. In these case honor code system is ultimately wholesome dependent on the students. Faculty comes into the picture after students reports to them.

Lastly, survey conducted in Groveton students said that they are less likely to cheat because of the new honor code system. In this case they have not mentioned on how many students they have surveyed. There have been a case where students must be hiding the possibilities of cheating that has been increased because of the mutual understanding between the colleagues of not reporting each other cheating cases. Students might be benefitted due to this decision as there is no faculty member monitoring them. So they have the freedom of cheating in the exams without getting reported.

In Summary, all the above questions must be answered before adopting this solution in all colleges and universities. The Argument falls short in many aspects they might have provided some supporting data so that the other colleges and universities can think about it and then apply in their respective colleges and universities. Empowering the students with the responsibilities of monitoring each other and then reporting instead the faculties must have been allocated a limited number of students will make it better with no much burden on the faculty. Hence, in the absence of all such data the argument remains flawed.