In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

In this editorial, author is throwing a light on the issues of prunty county highway saftey. Though they imposed new rules but they failed miserably because there was no impact on the number of accidents. So now they have decided to adopt the same kind of project of road improvement like butler county did five years ago and have reported less cases than before.However, the author assertion to adopt the same technique like butler country is baseless and not persuasive.The premises for my stand are pervasive throughout the passage.

Firstly, the road project which they are planning to execute in prunty county has no strong evidence through which it can be considered as the ideal solution . Butler county did this project five years ago implementing the same project now cannot provide strong evidence that the accidents might get reduced.This can be only implemented if the only reason behind this was bad conditions of roads.

In addition, the amount of vehicles passing through the butler county might be more than the number of vehicles in prunty county in this case road improvement project might have favoured their assumptions and planning . The same reason cannot be considered for prunty county as the reports suggest many are exceeding speed limit if there were bad conditions of road they might not have exceeded the speed limit.

Lastly,based on reports by the highway patrol they have found out that many drivers are exceeding speed limit.But there is no strong evidence to support this evidence how relevant data they have provided. There might be case only when they found out that they are exceeding speed limit but there might a case where they have missed the most important reason behind it.

In summary,there must be a strong evidence to support the authors assertion, proper comparison of timeline , data that suggests only solution to decrease traffic is to adopt the technique of road improvement.However in the absence of this the argument remains flawed.